Introducing.. THE RULES.

I know my time is limited. Now has been six weeks of my internship and that’s mean just two weeks left for me to gain as much as I can about this ‘work’ thing. I learned a lot since last month. I guess now I can control my adrenalin better than last month. I try being more relaxed. More calm. But still concentrate. I keep trying to control my emotion. My mood. My feelings. Hopefully ‘those things’ can maintain in the two weeks left.

I strongly believed that my ‘internship experience’ would improve my knowledge. And that’s right. I got new lesson from day to day. I guess I begin understand what journalism is all about. Now let me show you THE RULES in journalism world.

RULE #1 KNOWING THE ISSUE

Before you go to cover story, make sure you know about the issues. Try to understand it. Read today’s papers. Learn the previous story and prepare the questions.

RULE #2 CONFIDENCE IS EVERYTHING

Never say you are a practical student. Hahaha. That’s what Encik Nizam always say to all of us-Journalism students. You have your own PRESS card. Just act like you are the REAL journalist. Hehe. But actually it doesn’t work for me. Whatever I wear, everyone notice that I’m such ‘budak sekolah’ look alike. Damn!

RULE #3 COVER THE SPEECH, NOT THE FUNCTION

The person who comes is more important than the function itself. In the first week, I thought I will cover the whole function. But my senior told me that we do is just cover the speech, not the function. Especially when Minister/Prime Minister coming, what he/she gonna say is the main story.

RULE #4 DATANG TAK DIJEMPUT PULANG TAK DIANTAR

This is the most crucial rule in journalism. Actually BERNAMA always received invitation letter which allowed reporters to make news reporting. But to get there (the venue), all by yourself. First, make sure you know the place. Then you find your own way to get there. You bring your own vehicle to get there. And when the function’s over, you go back to office by yourself too. See what I mean?

RULE #5 ENGLISH PLEASE!

Yeah. Now I realize how important that language is. Like Encik Mokhtar (my editor) always say, FORCE yourself to speak and write in English. Even if you don’t really like it. Me myself still learn how to write and speak in English properly until now. Reading is ok la. But to listen what people say, sometimes I still don’t get what they mean.

RULE #6 NEVER DENIED FREE FOOD

Ow yeah. The food is always free for media. Taste it before you regret it. Especially when you get assignment in Three Star Hotel like Crown Mutiara Hotel. Oh God the cheesecake was so daaaammn delicious. And also the Imperial (Sheraton) Hotel. Mmm. I looove the pastries. Sooo Yummy!

RULE #7 GET THE CONTACTS

Aha. This is very important too. You must get their phone numbers for another question or for confirmation later after you start type your story in the office. They often asked for your business card too. But hellooo? I’m practical student. So I just simply say .. Alaa..tak bawa la! Ade kat another bag. Saye tukar bag hari ni. Hahaha. Joking. I just say that I don’t have business card because I’m quiet new as a journalist in BERNAMA. Peace everyone!

RULE #8 CONFIRM EH?

Now I know why different newspapers have the same picture or even the same headline on one day. Its simply because each journalist has made an agreement with the other journalist : ‘hey, Utusan hilite apa? RTM hilite apa?’ Oh maaan. No wonder newspapers usually got the same issue but different way of writing.

Okay. I think those RULES really make u guys clear now, isn’t it? Me myself still refer to those RULES until now. Hopefully my writing skills, my instinct and my ‘mental’ can be improved by the following week. Amin.

[vista angkasa. 16 Juni 2008]

[00.11 am]


About this entry